visions of chloe

By biblinros

Chloe and an old lime kiln....

...at least I think that's what it is. There are quite a few of these in our area all having a narrow chimney and a 'mouth' at the bottom to remove the lime. However, they are usually conical although they are built into the side of hills.
If this is an lime kiln I presume that whoever made it used what was available which included the old stone fireplace. The iron post made me think this couldn't be the renmains of a primitive house (and the fireplace isn't that primitive anyway) but I must admit I haven't seen the posts near other lime klins. Perhaps they had been recycled for other uses. This one is a bit inaccessable.
If anyone had better suggestions please let me know as I pass it quite frequently and I would really like to be sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.