just allan

By allan

Daisy Chain

Daisies in a field near Drem, East Lothian. Around the bases of the telegraph poles are clusters of daisies, which stopped me short as I cycled by. Wading into the crop for this shot rewarded me with itchy-scratchy legs but I'm pleased with the result. A hot bath should fix it.

Drem & back today on the bike. As I left this morning there was a light spit in the air, and I turned round to put a jacket on despite being just in time. I'm glad I did, because it promptly poured and kept on pouring for the rest of the ride. I felt unexpectedly strong though, so I really enjoyed ploughing through. It's the getting wet that's a bit miserable, once you're wet through it makes no difference. Drem in 40min and 1second at 16.3 average in those conditions - pleased with that.

Then dodging the bullets at work, and decided to do the return to Drem on the train instead of the whole distance on the bike. I'm glad I did, because I found this image and then stopped in East Linton Co-Op for supplies (everything I needed was on offer, so I bought full-price wine!) and met Pugsley Bruce. Nerdy bike chat ensued and he's giving me an old tyre I need as soon as he can. It's a 3.7" Surly Endomorph, which'll let me ride the beach again. Let's hope it fits.

A great fun day to look forward to tomorrow, best pack my bag, watch the Tour de France highlights (it's a rest day so it'll be Bike Carnage Review tonight) and slope off to bed. A most uncivilised 0900 meeting tomorrow which means some early-morning public transport. Must remember headphones and a book!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.