Capital adventures

By marchmont

Led astray

My best friend Y came through from Glasgow today. We have known each other for 30+ years and have been firm friends throughout her moves from Inverurie to Oetikon, Lake Zurich, to Reading and now southside Glasgow. She's supported me through thick and thin over the last 4 years. Is it that long?

We met at the Waverley and trawled John Lewis (coffee stop), M & S, Gap and Zara for white jeans (not for me I hasten to add, I don't do white). Then it was a late and very long (4 hour) lunch at one of my favourite pavement restaurants, Amicus Apple in Frederick Street - great view of the Castle and makes you glad you live in Edinburgh in summer and today it definitely was summer, for the first time since I got back.

BUT, and here's the rub, she leads me astray (well that's my story and I'm sticking to it.) Some things are best left untold so all I'm saying is, it was great sitting in the sunshine under a clear blue sky talking non-stop, the 2 bottles of rose wine was a perfect accompaniment to an Edinburgh summer's day, she went home on the 6.30 train, I took the bus up the road and you are very lucky to get this blip before the witching hour.

Too busy talking to attempt a blip (which as it turned out was just as well as the SD card had been left in the laptop, again) so this is the new phone, my Galaxy Ace, which luckily Yodel delivered 2 minutes before #3 son left for TA this evening. Now charging so it will be tomorrow before I can play with it. Looking forward to the Android blip app. Don't you just love new toys?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.