Singing in my Chains

By Cadi

Penarth headland

Apologies for all the dog photos but I'm dog sitting & it's a novelty - I've only ever lived with cats.

Anyway, went for a walk from Cardiff Bay, across the barrage to Penarth beach. I've never walked round the headland before but regeneration of the Bay has made it accessible. We're on the Bristol Channel rather than the sea proper so the water is a bit muddy but the headland has these great orange rocks scattered about.

Walking across the barrage takes you past several old docks. When I was a kid I always thought they were a great place to dump a body (I was one of THOSE types of children) & I'm really pleased that I've come across this in fiction set here. Bernard Knight, who now writes medieval crime fiction, disposed of a body in one of the docks in Tiger at Bay written under a previous incarnation, Bernard Picton. Trezza Azzopardi did something similar in The Hiding Place - if anyone is looking to read a novel set in Cardiff, I would recommend this highly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.