Recovery

Jeepers. I am getting old.
Apparently, it now takes at least 8 cups of tea and a packet of bacon frazzles for me to begin to recover from a night out.
Top night last night. Not laughed so much in a long time.

Today we ventured to Liverpool to go and visit Nana and Great Auntie Rose. Just getting there was a miracle in itself. The motorway was treacherous - standing water, huge amounts of spray, torrential rain and idiots driving too fast, too close and cutting across lanes. Idiots.

Had a lovely few hours between the two houses. Looking at old photos, chatting about the idiocy of Nana being told that she is not YET a candidate for having a new knee (I wonder at what point she will be), drinking tea and fill our Tesco bag with endless supplies of biscuits, sweets and cakes. Thanks Nana!

Corin was finally shown "The cupboard of many things". A place where Grandma stashes things that she buys, or wins at the bingo. She pulled out a gift set "for men" - watch, nail clippers etc. She said "Oh well who am I going to give that too now. You've seen it Corin so you can't have it!" She makes me laugh.

Corin did some odd jobs for her, then we went to Rose's. More odd jobs. Discussions about new boilers. Stayed a while then we came home, stopping on the way for greasy burger! Yum.

In the photos - A picture of Grandad and Tom taken on Millenium eve 1999/2000. A picture of my Aunty Val and my Mum when they were little girls. Aunty Rose (bottom, centre), Corin, James and Nana in the room with the cupboard of many things and (top right) Nana and Corin looking at old photos whilst James illustrates the generation gap by ignoring everyone and playing on his laptop!

I love my family. I miss my Grandad. Particularly when I sit in his chair and when the house still feels like he is there - I still expect, wish, hope, that he would walk through the door into the kitchen. I'd like to give him a hug. Just once more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.