Gardner's Crescent

Edinburgh is blessed with many sweeping crescents of stone tenements.

This one, Gardner's Crescent is in Fountainbridge, almost bang in the centre of the city and near the end of the Union canal.
It's not quite in the league of those in the New Town, and probably isn't home to the super rich, but I think, were it to have the stone cleaned, it would look amazing.

With the weather appearing dry in the morning, his Lordship suggested a short cycle run with the proviso that there would be no racing, we would go easily up the hills, and that he would indulge in a cake at any coffee stop.

At the coffee stop, I turned down the cake option being a lady of grim determination, and therefore, so in the end, did he, not for any of the excuses he had about it being unfair on my having to watch him sink his gnashes into a calorie laden chocolately confection, but more I think that I would have had more will power than he.

As for the racing, the pace was fairly controlled, although with his lordship in front, I accused him of speeding and when he allowed me to lead, he accused me of racing.
In fact I admit that in the last mile and a half when he decided to go a different way from me, I did race, determined to beat him, and arrived home before him but in an extremely unattractive lather.

I blame too much watching of the beautiful boys in body hugging lycra dancing up the Pyrenees at eye watering speeds. Now that is racing: I bet their wives never go out for a cycle run with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.