Re-Vision: A Photo Journal

By shellkaysm

Canna in Buds & Blooms

As I just shared in another Blipper's comment section, it's amazing how this forum changes your view of the world. I've only been here for a few weeks, and I'm constantly looking at everything around me, thinking "what can I capture next?" or "that would make a great picture." I'm particularly looking to my garden now, as there seems to be something new blooming all the time. So much beauty surrounding me. I keep composing shots in everything I see, wherever I go. It's crazy, but fun, and I'm definitely learning a lot in the process of exploring and examining the photos of others.

This morning, I checked the ponds' two pending bloomers. Both the Lotus and the Canna were open. Imagine my dilemma! I shot both and the had to pick from about 20. Since I already submitted a blip on the first Lotus Blossom, I went for the tropical Canna. This was actually my first shot of the day. How often does that happen? If you missed it, here is the shot I took a couple of days ago, featuring the Canna before blooming with its dragonfly visitor.

I considered waiting for more of the petals to open another day, but I liked the promise in this stage, a preview/teaser and kind of interesting combo of buds and blossoms. I found the ornamental grass softened the background of this view. I wish I could plan a bit better rather than take so many shots in order to find "the one." Guess that comes with experience, too. So much to learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.