Brig o' Balgownie

Mentioned last week that I had started to cycle into town rather than use the bus ... my chosen route is over the old Brig o' Balgownie and then down through Old Aberdeen ... its got lots of interesting things to blip on the way, so today I've started with the Brig itself ...

According to the Royal Commission for Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland

The Brig o' Balgownie, a single gothic span in ashlar with the parapets slighly corbelled, was built c 1320, repaired c 1444, largely rebuilt in the early 17th century and repaired in 1861 and c 1877 when buttresses were added to the approaches.

So there you have it.

Took this on the way in to work. On the way back I saw a seal in the river from the bridge but it had dived before I could snap it.

Think the sepia effect gives this a timeless quality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.