Poppy

By Poppy

To Quote Simon & Garfunkel . . . .

Gee, but it's great to be back home!

Been away south for a couple of weeks and it is so good to be back, even though I had a great time. The first week I took my Dad to Shropshire and we did a bit of exploring and went to see his brother and his wife. Out of the six siblings, there is only the two of them left - Dad and Uncle Geoff. It must be at least 30 years since I had seen my aunt and uncle, and I was amazed to see photos of my cousins and realise how similar my sister and I looked to them! It was super to see Dad and his brother together, catching up and reminiscing about their past. Shewsbury and Shropshire were lovely and I hope we'll get a chance to go again.

The second week I spent with my mother-in-law while my sister-in-law and her husband, who usually keep an eye on her, had a few days break. Although her short term memory is not great, she is full of wonderful stories about growing up in Tyneside and working in Edinburgh during the 1920s and 30s and I never get tired of hearing all her memories.

Ollie came with me and travelled well in the car, although his navigating and map reading leave a lot to be desired! Got home at midnight on Sunday, complete with Chihuahua puppy that I collected in Aberdeen for my friend!

Back at work now, although I haven't actually unpacked yet! Hope to catch up with commenting soon . . . . !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.