Free as a bird

By freebird

Messing about on the river...

That'll teach me not to blip half way through the day - out goes the fuchsia I featured earlier - that'll do for another time.

I went out for a walk this afternoon along the river near my village and as I was coming home I came across a boat at the lock. One of the passengers, a woman, was interested in what I was photographing and we talked about our mutual interest in photography. Turns out she still takes her pictures with a film camera and processes and prints them herself. She and her husband were giving their grandsons a spin along the river.

Still have my old Canon Ftb film camera but sold my developing and printing kit a couple of years ago when I got an offer for it from someone on a photography course. But I still have fond memories of developing film and trying to keep the dust off it, and that magical feeling when the picture starts appearing on photographic paper as is sloshes about in the dev. Aah, those were the days. But I wouldn't go back - digital is great. No more being confined to 36 frames on a film and sending it off to the processor.

As I write this I think I can hear the sound of a combine harvester coming across the fields. The first I've heard this year. The wheat looks ripe and there are fields and fields of it so I guess they want to get it in while the going's good.

For the record: 18C, grey, cloudy and very still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.