Boundary Dwellers

By Hell4Murph

Real Scots

Sitting in the cafe at the Storytelling Centre today, I was intrigued by the absence of a saltire above a place calling itself 'Real Scot Shop', presumably selling goods made almost entirely in China, Vietnam, possibly India. But I'm sure the Tweeddale (Hay) family would be pleased that the absence of a saltire allows the display of a Union Jack (the1st Marquess was created such as a reward for supporting William of Orange).

So what is a 'real Scot'?

As a footnote - I'd been in the Storytelling Centre to see a posthumous exhibition of work by two artist friends of my sister's - Nell Dunn and Kenny Skeel. Ken's strong political views (especially his nationalism) would not have gone down well in Tweeddale, I don't suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.