Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Still Ill...

I've actually got a bit of a summer cold (123 aaaaah) and it's been bloody difficult staying upbeat with the kids (which means I haven't really bothered trying). Miraculously / Amazingly / Thankfully Arlo has been amazing and avoided his usual tricks so I managed to juggle it all. Just.

When Bry got home from work and found out I hadn't taken anything for it (suffered in silence, dear reader. You know how I don't like to make a fuss) he shuffled off to the cupboard to find our medicine basket so I could take something to shut me up make me feel better.

A few pointers about our medicine basket before I go any further:

1) I hate that medicine basket.
2) I refuse to go anywhere near it because stuff always falls out of it when you go rummaging
3) It never ever has anything in it that I need (clearly that means anything to cure a hangover)
4) Last time I went in there to look for a cold remedy I found my drivers license - previously completely lost to me.
5) It has the same amount of space as a small dinner plate, yet we continuously shove packs and boxes and bottles into it in the style of mad people who think that baskets have expandable insides. Something along the same idea as the tardis. It does not.
6) Almost every blister pack you retrieve from there is scrambled about for at a ludicrously early time of day, in a situation so desperate you are literally frothing at the mouth and they are ALMOST ALWAYS EMPTY.
7) Neither of us knows who fills this basket as neither of us puts anything into it. Ever. Well maybe Bry does, cos look at my Second point.

Anyway. I got trapped in the list there. Where was I? Oh yes. Bry plucked the medicine-basket-of-doom from the cupboard and announced there would be something in there that would make me better. I then announced I was going nowhere near any of it till i saw a) what was in there and b) What the use by dates were.

Bry spent the next 20 minutes going through it, guffawing all the way. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you - our medicine basket:

* 4 different glues - pritstick, 2 craft glues and wood glue
* Can of lighter fluid
* A can of shoe polish
* Pack of 'Resolve' so old they would give you a hangover
* 16 different sachets and packets of drugs, use by date 2006
* various half used packs of paracetamol / cold relief - mix 'n' match, innit.
* 1/4 bottle I'd DROWSY Benalyn (my own personal favourite)


I think you'll agree - that's one hell of a party. I feel better just looking at all that!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.