Me, myself & I

By AlisonMM

Made in St Helens

Another quick detour onto the Southbank on my way to work this morning. I've discovered lots of little nooks and cranies around the Festival Hall with a lovely variety of photos and pictures displayed. I was going back to one I discovered a few weeks back - a display of the photographer Rankin's photos. However, I got distracted by these gentlemen. I quote from the plaque:

This striking collection of portraits of 12 men from St Helens formed part of the 'Made in St Helens' exhibition at the Godfrey Pilkington Gallery earlier this year. The work celebrates the town, its unique history and the stories of its residents through the portraits of regulars at the Turks' Head in Morley Street; ordinary people with extraordinary stories.

The phots were conceived by local musicial Ian Brownbill and taken by Phil Starling.

I'm curious to know their stories.

I'll save Rankin for another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.