Fraggle Rock

By frisky

Clearing...

Well, we had Anna's funeral on Wednesday. It was not a bleak occasion, more a celebration of her. I have been slowly clearing the flat getting ready to move, and this pictures sums up my feelings this week, almost an empty shell with just a few signs of existence. However, as this chapter ends and I go onto the next I take with me happy memories and a want to "get back on it" as a dear friend exclaimed.

Anna had requested no tears no tears to be shed and that people were to be in bright colours. Not so sure about the tears but everyone in attendance was brightly dressed, looking at the mass of bodies was akin to seeing a wild summer meadow with the mixture of colour usually reserved for summer flowers.

Anna had requested not to have a religious service, but instead to have music & people speaking. I got up and said a few shorts words, followed by a poem. It was not easy, but I felt that not being able to get through it would have somehow let her down.

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning's hush
I am the swift uplifting rush.
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the brightest star that shines at night.


Written by Mary Elizabeth Frye in 1932. I removed the last two lines and ammended the Star comment as Anna has a star named after her now as a constant reminder to us all of the brightness she brought into our lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.