I spy with my little eye

By roaminaround

In bloom

Well the boys headed to the golf club with Lord of the Manor and Grampa, and had a ball.
S and I did a wee bit shopping and then headed for a coffee at the local coffee shop. Its quite sad to see what remains of the local shops in the area. We have just lost Peckhams the deli, and the local bakers, which did a roaring trade at lunchtime with school kids. Now we are left with 2 estate agents? a chemist,a tiny Post office/travel agents, the cafe and a hairdressers, a flourists, the bank, the opticians and a furniture restorers!......but you cant buy a loaf, paper or milk on the main drag!
When I was wee I used to cycle to the shops and there was a butchers ( my uncle and his partner owned this),Barretts the newsagents which sold "everything" a kid needed from comics to a quarter of sweeties, a loaf at the bakers, and picked up my Grans pension for her at the post Office. Instead you can now admire the local authority floral display! Perhaps if they reduced the shop rates instead of planting flower baskets, locals would have the joy of really shopping in their local community instead of heading to the larger supermarkets. Here endeth the rant! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.