pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

MIGHTY DOLLAR

With a money Crisis in the US looming, the dollar is very much in our news.
Talk about looming - the Canadian Dollar ( I think) has a bird on it also that it's called a LOON. I wonder how many other dollar coins have birds on them?
There are quite a few coins of all values that bear the picture of a bird - This being a bird site ( for me that is ) - I figured a good inside photo - due to inclimate weather should be the topical dollar !!

I was surprised when I photographed it with my macro lense how much detail of the damage was evident - yet when I looked at it with the naked eye it seemed in pristine condition. Coins must take a hammering over their lifetime!
It was interesting to consider the artist who developed the bird for the coin.
I suppose a process of painting, lino cutting (dont know what its called now )
and then copying it for the three dimensional coin development - I dont know but a lot of work I imagine.??

I photographed it with my camera on my copy stand. Natural light in front of a glass doorway. The copy stand has been a very handy acquisition over the years - for things like book covers,documents feathers flowers - all sorts.

anyway - here is the NZ Kiwi - a flightless bird that scavanges around the forest floor for worms during the night - I've never seen one in the wild - I suppose as I dont go out in the forest at night time !! Never did understand with those attributes why we made it our national bird - I can think of nicer ones !!
regards pooba

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.