Country File

By marypot

Goodbyes

There have been quite a few goodbyes lately, so it seems. The loss of Baggins was quite a shock to our little family, and ordinarily would have been something to cause quite a lot of grief. However, there are other things afoot that make the loss of poor, dear fluffy chap seem less consequential. Aside from the grief I am presently feeling for a life that never came to be, my brother in law lost his Mam a week ago, and today was the first time I'd seen him and my sister since that happened. My Dad thought this seemed like an appropriate day finally to say a last goodbye to my Mam too. It's one of those things that has been put off for various reasons, but Dad wanted it done once and for all, so my sister and I went out onto the farm to a favourite place of my Mam's and spread the ashes together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.