Flint Knapping

By Flintaxe

Seashells on the sea shore

Had a fantastic afternoon in Llansteffan, Carmarthanshire today. While walking near the water at low tide on the estuary, I had a Gerald Durrell moment. These are what I call the magical occurrences in nature that make you feel like a small child exploring new and unconquered lands, as Gerald Durrell brilliantly described in his Corfu trilogy. I could hear cracking and popping noises coming from the sand bank I was walking on (and sinking, occasionally) and realised that the sound was coming from the creatures living within the sand and mud coming to the surface. I noticed bubbles of air breaking through the moisture in the sand too. Lots of bird life there today, such as a vast quantity of oystercatchers, herons, an egret, BHG, LBBG, jackdaws and on the plants growing in the dunes bees. A much needed stress free day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.