michigan man

By outdoorguy

Log Cabin

This is a corner of the small 3 room cabin we have
up north. It is located on the Ausable River near Mio, Michigan. We had to hire
a group of guys to place the logs, but I did the chinking of the walls all by
myself...using a combination of White Portland Cement, masonry sand, and masonry
lime. A lot of tedious work.
 
The desk is set up for me to tie my fishing flies.
I don't like to trust my line to anybody else. I used to do it with just my
sight, but now I have to use a magnifying glass stand. The fishing creels are a
few of my collection. 37 at last count. Need to quit buying. The decoys I carved
from a giant piece of balsa. It is a light wood, and I really had to pour a lot
of metal into the bottom of the decoys. They float pretty good now.
 
The pheasant I got in North Dakota, near the
Canadian border. The brook trout I got from the Madison River in Wyoming. The
rainbow trout out of the Battenkill River in Vermont. My taxidermist really is a
magician.
 
The old box camera was my grandmas. The big picture
is of my grandma and grandpa. The snapshots are of friends and various uncles. A
lot of fishing in our background.
 
OHHHHH...how I wish it was April 1st...so I could
say APRIL FOOLS!!!! What a bunch of bologna. The chinking part I got off the
internet. I've never fired a gun of any kind. I can count the number of times I
have fished on one hand. I do have one fishing creel, but it's not very old. I
have a few Beanie Babies in it.
 
As for the duck carving...I cannot be trusted with
a knife. I got my first pocketknife at Rock City in Tennessee, and cut myself
before I got out of the parking lot.
 
At least that story is true........The scene is taken inside Bass Pro Shops.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.