ebonyskye

By ebonyskye

Wollemi

This is a Wollemi Pine.

Very rare ..... discovered 200km west of Sydney in a rainforest gorge - Wollemi National Park in the Blue Mountains in 1994.

The tree family they belong to is millions of years old.

There are less than 100 mature trees in the wild where they were discovered and the location is suppose to be a secret!!.

The Wollemis seem to germinate OK from seeds and we are now seeing small trees - like this one - in nurseries or being plants in secure places.

Their nettles/leaves are very soft and unlike other pines I have seen. Obviously I don't know a huge amount about them . I should have 'googled' before I posted!!!

I love this little one ..... I wonder how long it will take for it to be a huge tree!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.