Celebration

I really can't believe it I made it to the 100th blip!!! My thanx and my appreciation to blipfoto (GOOD WORK there guys) and to all fellow blippers that have made this site such a fun place!

So a celebration is in order! I was really lucky to come across a free concert by this group. A greek band that mainly plays songs of Calabria, an area of south Italy where a dialect, griko, that combines greek and italian is still present. The show included some local dances where probably the most famous one is the tarantella, a dance that is said to cure the poisining from the bite of the large local wolf spider or "tarantula" .

I am already looking forward to next weekend when a festival is planned with movies, dances and concerts of greek and italian groups from the south of Italy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.