Mandy's Snaps

By mandyarmstrong

Westward Ho!

Hooray, we're here! Five hours in the car with 3 children, and I'm still smiling...just. You've all got 2 weeks of me posting pics from the west country, assuming the internet connection keeps up.

A little bit about Westward Ho!
Westward Ho! is a seaside village near Bideford in Devon, England. The A39 road provides access from the towns of Barnstaple, Bideford and Bude. It lies at the south end of Northam Burrows and faces westward into Bideford Bay, opposite Saunton Sands and Braunton Burrows.

The village name comes from the title of Charles Kingsley's novel Westward Ho! (1855), which was set in nearby Bideford. The book was a bestseller, and entrepreneurs saw the opportunity to develop tourism in the area.


The apartment we are staying in belongs to a friend of Mr A's, and boasts floor to ceiling windows in the main bedroom and living area. I'll blip those another time.

This is my entry for blip challenge: Landscape, although it's a bit of a tenuous link!

Sorry I'm behind on my comments, I'll try to do some catching up later. At the moment, I'm enjoying a glass of wine and watching the tide go out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.