The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Something fishy

Today we did another 5 miles of the Cuckoo Way - from Staveley to Killamarsh. It was very different from last week's walk. To say the canal was not navigable for most of this section was an understatement; much of it was like a jungle! Plenty of butterflies and birds around. The highlight for me was as I was standing quietly on the path, a young fox came towards me and got quite close before he spotted me and turned tail. We also saw two buzzards soaring overhead. There were 2 sections of the old canal where water was still in evidence: one was a short section which had been restored as an amenity near a housing development, the other, a section beautifully restored as a fishery. And very popular it was too! Just as we were passing one angler pulled this 5lb carp out. Soon after this shot, it was back in the canal.
Early blip today as I'm taking Pete out for a birthday meal later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.