The Cherry and the Slae

Mentioned (and blipped previously about) our native tree planting efforts before ... was pleased to spot today that our slaes ( Blackthorn / prunus spinosa ) are bearing fruit which will keep the wee birdies going in the winter ... along with the other fruiting native trees and shrubs in it.

The hedge brings to mind one of my favourite poems - The Cherry and The Slae by the 16th Century makar Alexander Montgomerie ... here's a taster ...

About ane bank, quhair birdis on bewis,
Ten thusand tymis thair notis renewis,
Ilke houre into the day,
The Merle, & Maveis micht be sene,
The Progne, and the Phelomene,
Quhilk caussit me to stay,
I lay and leynit me to ane bus,
To heir the birdis beir,
Thair mirth was sa melodius,
Throw nature of the zeir,
Sum singing, sum springing,
With wingis into the Sky,
So trimlie, and nimlie,
Thir birdis they flew me by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.