Flint Knapping

By Flintaxe

Myth or Moth?

I saw this little one in the conservatory. Its a Celypha lacunana (I think - I'm always open to expert information) a common moth in the UK.

They're an odd thing, moths. Beautiful in many ways but I'm one of those people who hates to have them near, especially at night in my bedroom! Its totally irrational I know and I tried to think of a reason why. It can't be a childhood thing, linked to stories and myths as I don't think there are any, other than the more recent Mothmen urban legends which are more to do with visions bringing warnings of impending disaster. The book The Mothmen Prophecies by John Keel dealt described this phenomena and and was made into a film with Richard Gere. However, I only heard of this about 12 years ago and I don't think its widely known in the same way as Roswell and other urban legends.

I met a very nice chap in a bird hide recently who loved wildlife and was a member of a nature group in his area. During our conversation he admitted to hating moths with a passion and described to me how he gave his group the opinion "Send moths to hell!" (or words to that effect) and had to bear the brunt of some severe looks as a result. I for one think its great that someone who obviously loved nature and wildlife had the guts to say there was one creature he loathed. I don't think for a moment he would have knowingly harmed a living thing, as having appreciation for something is bit like the old adage about friends and family - you can choose your friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.