Photo Journal

By mlp

I saved a baby duck today....

Went to visit the baby swans again today. Got some very cute pictures of them....but the baby ducks won out.

As I approached the mommy duck and babies I was amazed to realize she was being followed by no less than 22 ducklings!
Some how she has ended up with all the little ducks on the lake.
While watching them I noticed some peeping coming from off to the side.
As I got closer I saw two baby ducks sitting in the grass...one of them ran off as I got closer but the other seemed to be stuck.
He had stopped to rest right on top of a patch weed that has very sticky seed ends. They were clinging all over his downy feathers and he was unable to move.
I wasn't able to really pull them off but scooped him up and cut the stems with my fingernails. He was still a bit covered in it but I didn't want to handle him too much.

Mom got a bit closer then and all the little ones followed. After setting him back down with the flock I sat down in the grass and they all came over next to me and hung around for quite a while. It was absolutely adorable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.