Damson jam

We went to bed really late last night but had to get up at 7am. The kids were not too be happy to be woken up so early. We had to be at Euston by 10am for our train back to Wales. My son?s friend was travelling back to Wales with us and his mum dropped him off at 8am.
We dropped off my friend?s daughter in Chester en route and we got to Bangor station at 1:30pm. My son had stayed with my brother whilst we were in London and when we got to my brother?s, my son and my nephew came running up to me saying that they had escaped death by being chased by cows!
The three boys spent the afternoon collecting damsons in the field. Instead of picking the fruit off the trees, they just snapped huge chuncks of branches off the trees. This picture shows them picking the fruit off the branches. Just as were were leaving my brothers's, my nephew came screaming down the stairs saying that his eye did not feel right. He had a big clot of blood sitting on his eye ball. My brother had to drive him 30 miles to the nearest hospital to have it checked out. He has since called to say that everything was all right.

We have a carrier bag full of damsons. Tomorrow - we shall make jam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.