Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

A Different Variety

The sweet lady who insisted I take a leaf from a few of her African Violets, so that I could start my own, gave me the name and history (what country she had ordered them from) for each one. You would think it would be a simple matter labeling each one, but no! I started several leaves at the same time. Each in a tiny bottle. Some lived, some did not. The colors were rich and beautiful. This was my favorite and I wanted to be sure it survived, so I started many plants from the original one I grew. They do not satisfy me with lots of blooms, all except for one that I gave to a friend who had the kindest heart toward plants. His bloomed almost continually. Mine have long breaks between blooming sessions. I love the rich color and the lacy little edges and they're really worth waiting for. The sparkles on the petals are present on all the varieties, something I think is magical, glistening like snow. I'd love to tell you where it's from and what it's name is. If only I could!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.