Cup of tea with a view

It might not be the cheapest tea in town but the John Lewis restaurant certainly has a stunning view!

S and I had tickets for two Fringe events - Simon Callow in the afternoon and 'Into the Woods' by Sondheim in the evening. I complained after seeing Simon Callow - and to their credit I'm going again for free next week - but we were quite a way back in the queue and were seated in the gallery which has a restricted view - several dirty great pillars between us and the stage. The acoustics were not good either, especially when he moved behind the pillar and/or a plinky plonky piano accompaniment was drowning him out. My hearing is not 100% but it's not that bad. I never expected to see Simon Callow and not be able to hear him! I don't think restricted view seats should be sold for full price - it's greedy and unprincipled in my opinion.

Into the Woods was excellent, my favourite Sondheim composition. If you get the chance, see it. In between the 2 shows we had a meal at Nile Valley mmmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.