TeeJay

By TeeJay

A rose by any other name...

Yep, another cold morning. It always amazes me the extremes that plants go through in winter and then they still bloom in spring.

I woke far too early for a Saturday and couldn't get back to sleep. Too many thoughts spinning around in my head.

We are celebrating my mother's 70th birthday this weekend. Although she lives in Hokitika she has opted to hold the event in Nelson as it is where a greater percentage of the attendees live, and it's easier to get to for the majority of the travellers.

The Australian group are already in Nelson and the Christchurch contingent have begun arriving. My nephew, his partner and my 7 week old great nephew called in last night on their way through to Nelson. My son and his partner will be here shortly then we will all head up to Nelson to meet up with the family who have come from Australia, Christchurch, Hokitika and various parts of the North Island.

I almost pity the 'non family' guests. The family can be a bit much when we all get together. Of my parents 5 children, 11 grand-children and 4 great-grandchildren there will only be a total of 4 missing. Add in partners and it's quite an intimidating group.

We don't get together often enough as a whole family so it should be a great night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.