meanderbestofem

By Meandertall

The Trophy Cabinet

Not mine I hasten to add. Visited a football club this morning and their trophy cabinet caught my eye with the early sun stretching across the room creating what (I at least thought) were interesting shadows.

I might have said "It got me thinking" but that's Otago Lads line and actually the image is probably a product of the thinking.

I'm trying to work out why we, - using we because I know plenty of folk who do this, - enter our images into competition , be it local small stuff or bigger ones. I've always told myself it's a good way to hone your skill , to refine your craft, a great format to share with folks who know a good image and appreciate good work. I heard a judge say the other day, - he was comparing judging panels to solo judges - that a panel encouraged mediocrity. To my mind he then proceeded to demonstrate a solo judge could do just that. But then I'm the one that came away with no trophies. So what does that make me? A little bitter? I really enjoy talking with photogs who know their stuff and nutting it out over theirs or my images. But I hate the way I reacted to this trophy crap.

But then maybe I wasn't wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.