Pop's Life

By pop

My Charming Butterfly

I've had a hard time getting a decent shot of this butterfly because he/she keeps on moving. Even while she is taking in nutrient, her wings never seem to stop. Usually I shoot them at least 1/2000 second, but today I tried to be more patient and to shoot at a slower sleed in order to get a greater depth of field. Fortunately, my camera delivers good quality at ISO 1000.

I was surprised at the length of her intake tube, which I beleive is called the Proboscis. I did get better and more interesting shots of the Proboscis, but only this image had the wings, head, antennae and legs in focus too.

This butterfly seems to like the zinnias the most. I often see her on the red zinnias, but today she was on a Lantana diet.

I think this photo is worth viewing large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.