karenjulia

By karenjulia

Remembering 6 months ago

Yesterday it was six months since the February quake that so changed Christchurch. 181 people lost their lives, most in one building that collapsed. An inquiry is underway about that.

I invited those on our floor who wanted to, to gather together at 12.50pm for a time of remembrance. We talked and shared stories for a bit. I think it was a good thing to do.

In many ways our days are different. The Central City will be unrecognisable given the number of buildings that have come down and will be replaced. Mum's house has structural damage but the thing I always notice is no china, nic-nacs, none of those wee things that were always there when I was a kid - they are gone forever.

In many ways things carry on as they did. My workplace doesn't seem much different - I am just in a different building. I think everyone is more considerate of each other, we certainly know each other at a deeper level than we used to. The sense of community is stronger in my view.

The draft City Plan was delivered yesterday too. I guess that timing was deliberate. The plan is positive and looks exciting. it is not often that a modern city gets a chance to plan its infrastructure, transport, building codes, suburbs, CBD etc etc. It is a silver lining but it was a very dark cloud!

Kia kaha Christchurch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.