Family Tree - Family Ties

This evening I had a rather profound conversation with L. She wanted to know if everyone in the whole wide world was related because of Adam and Eve. She illustrated it by saying that they knew each other and had lots of children, and then they knew each other and had even more and therefore the pyramid of children got bigger and bigger and bigger. Well, she was certainly not wrong about the related bit, I then decided to bring in evolution and she thought it was hilarious to think that we might come from monkeys or have anything in common with them. I'll wait for her to do genetics at school before attempting any deeper conversations about that. She will probably be able to teach me something then. She could not believe that she might be related to her friend at school and yet, she probably is if we go far enough back in ancestry.

When I was in Switzerland my mother gave me a family tree that goes back all the way to 1340. It's on a huge piece of paper and some cousin of my mother's with lots of time has done all the research. Impressive.

Thank you all for the lovely comments on my 500th, it is a wonderful community to be part of and I hope to be here for many blipdays to come.

Yesterday was not only my blipday but also the anniversary of my aunt's passing a year ago. The grief one year ago was intense and yesterday was a day of remembrance but this event also brought me much closer to my cousin - whilst on holiday I was able to spend a full day with her and we discovered a relationship that we had neglected for a long time (geographical distance, age difference, life) but my aunt's funeral made us talk and ever since the contact is there and I appreciate it very much. Thank you M!

Maybe there is something about family ties that are difficult to break, I don't know but I do know that I have very special and close relationships with two of my aunts and several of my cousins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.