People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Quiet grace

One of the most challenging tasks any teacher in any field faces is teaching their students creativity. As you can well imagine, in the artistic fields the pressure to be be creative is highest ever.

The researchers attempt to define and measure the components of creativity in the attempts to bottle it on daily basis. Just type "creativity rubric" into a search engine and you'll see what I mean...

Whenever I think of creativity, I think of this young lady. I started investigating creativity when she took on a particularly complex solution to a problem in the design studio. I kept reading, she kept working on her project, we talked almost daily. Fluency (ability to generate multiple ideas)? Check. Flexibility (perceiving a problem in many different ways)? Check. Originality? Check. Elaboration? Check. Curiosity? Check. Risk-taking? Check. Complexity? Imagination? Check, check.

You taught me MUCH more about creativity than I taught you. Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.