The Hazyland Boys

By TheHazylandBoys

Sheep!

The boys and I went to visit a friend after work today. She does sheepdog trials with her dogs and my boys got to work a bit too.

It was the first time ever Beat and Hero met sheep without a fence between them and the sheep, but they were both sensible and did not try to chase or bite. They weren't that brave, but they both had moments of really good work.

Hero started out very carefully. He stayed behind Cody - my friend's dog that was there the entire time to keep control of the sheep - and followed him around the field as he (Cody) worked the sheep. After a while Hero got braver and went up in front of Cody. My friend asked Cody to lie down and Hero worked on his own for a little while. Then the sheep got too close to the fencing and Cody took over again.

Hero also spent a lot of time rolling in sheep pooh so he is now green and smelly!

Beat is always very careful in new situations. He stayed behind me and watched Cody work. My friend asked Cody to lie down and suddenly Beat came out and moved the sheep a little around the field, before he returned to me - surprised by his own courage!
It's Beat on todays picture.

Whisper used to work sheep and do sheepdog trials, so he got to work a bit too and he loved every minute of it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.