Barbara Hitchings

By Spannygranny

Mrs Angry

Tonight I am Mrs Angry, the reason .. you do someone a favour then they come and have a rant at you.

Our neighbour Colin's daughter Hayley, came on holiday last year, she stayed in No. 11 and as Colin was paying for the house I did it at a good price. This year Hayley again asked if the house was available and as Dad was paying could it be a 'good price' and it was.

They arrived, Hayley, husband and 3 year old plus mum in law, 2 brothers in law, girlfriend and another 3 year old, as you can imagine I was slighlty p..d off.

Today I spoke to Colin as the situation had been bugging me. I asked if he was paying for the house 'no' Hayley is paying for it, I explained my concerns about 6 adults and 2 children in a 3 bedroomed house and the amount of water and electricity that was being used and I was only charging 250gbp a week. He concurred with my feelings and said he would speak to Hayley.

30 minutes later I had the husband at my front door, he was going apoplectic, accused me of ruining their holiday, his wife was crying and the rest of the family were also upset. Had I a problem with them being in the house!! Roy and I tried to calmly explain that we thought that Colin was paying for the house and that only Hayley, Greg and isable would be in there hence the low cost of rental. He couldn't see any problem with 4 more adults and a child being in there as well. I asked him the question 'how would Colin feel if I did the same to him, booked the house for 2 people then 6 turn up, for the same price', he eventually conceded that I had a point. He also said thet his wife would never say that Dad was paying for the house just to get it cheap, fortunately for me I have kept the email in which she states that 'Dad is paying for the house and wants it at a good price'.

Greg asked me what I wanted them to do, 'pay more money' said I and it's been left at that.

I've still not calmed down, so Roy is taking me out for a meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.