michigan man

By outdoorguy

Car Show

We had a nice little car show/ kids day/ petting
farm/ grill cook-off/ at out church today. We had about 150 old cars show up.
This is a 1929 Phaeton 645 from Packard. It took 3rd place. The winner was a tow
truck that was fashioned after "Tow Mater" from the Cars movie. I think it got a
lot of votes from the kids.
 
My job was to cook chicken. We roasted a whole pig,
and also had hamburgs, hot dogs, steak, smoked pork butt, and walking tacos. My
wifes famous broccoli salad was among maybe 6-7 salads. Sno-cones, cupcakes, an
old-fashioned ice cream cart, and cakes filled out the menu. We hope a fun time
was had by all. A lot of work and prep-work goes into the planning, and
pulling-off.
 
 
In the background of my picture is a 1976 burgundy
Monte Carlo. It was just like my first new car, except mine was a 1977 model. A
pretty car. Seeing it reminds me of the drama that took place that year. My
wifes uncle was a professor for GMI(General Motors Institute.)  He was
going to get us a brand-new 1977 burnt orange Corvette. He then had to drive it
for 3000 miles. I was going to then get the $10,000 car...for $6600. A great
deal. Then...some idiot professer sold another Corvette before he put on the
required milege. I could no longer get the Corvette, so we "settled" for the
Monte Carlo. SOB! SOB! SOB!
 
My favorite car at the show was a 1962 Jeep
Wagoneer. It was painted orange and white. It looked like a Creamsicle. A lot of
nice car pictures to pick from, but I thought this old Packard was pretty
classy. I love the "well" for the spare tire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.