LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Newhaven Harbor

I have been reading The Negative by Ansel Adams, I need a reference as my developing technique has been tacked together from tidbits on the internet and some of it is not very complete.

A major discovery is that many of the negative I have developed look like they haven't developed properly and it's very hard to get a decent scan from them. It turns out they are not fixed properly and that they can be refixed. Once the fixing process is started the negatives can be exposed to light safely. So if they come out of the tank and have that cloudy look I can simply put them back in the tank until they clear. The negative which have already been cut can be placed in a tray, though they curl up badly when drying so I 'll have to find some way to prevent this.

A picture I took recently up near Craigmillar Castle which I thought I was going to be pleased with suffered from underfixing and after being fixed it looks more like the picture I was expecting.

This afternoon I went up to the Botanic Gardens to take some pictures in the late afternoon Sun, before heading down to Newhaven Harbour. I was asked by some tourist to take their picture in the Batanic Gardens and bizzarely I bumped into them at Newhaven Harbour too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.