The Corner of Your Heart

By LifeInEveryWord

Target

My dad and I visited the dump today to throw out some old firewood and a kiddie pool
We spent the whole afternoon searching for a backyard firepit, eventually ending up with one slightly girly contraption
My dad's just happy that it apparently holds a lot of wood (eh, whatever he says goes)

My dad has always been a constant in my life
And he always will be
He is the person I hold closest to my heart
And he always knows how to mend it when the other boys break it
He calls me his little soldier
He never knows the specifics as to why I'm upset
But he can always make it better
With a hot cup of tea and a Monty Python joke

You, however, are not a constant
You're there for me when it's convenient
Or whenever it is you need advice
And it hurts more than you can even imagine
So here's how this is going to be
Don't call
Just to tell me how stressed you are or how cute some girl is
Don't tell me to stop being so dramatic
Because I was always there for your stupid little panics
Don't pretend that nothing is wrong
I have never felt more awkward around someone in my whole life
And don't come crying to me when she screws you over again
Because I can't even begin to understand why you would let her back into your life
You have so much you need to fix
If it's even worth it to you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.