While on my runs

By waipushrink

A break in the clouds

This week I have been wanting to get a photo of the sunset, as my list of the subjects in the 2011 Challenge (for which we depend on missymoo to promote) has this week listed as sunset. But we have had heavy cloud cover every evening until today.

I went for a midday run today, and although I got the obligatory photo, it wasn't such a good composition as this one, taken as usual from the deck of our apartment. Low cloud continued to obscure the actual setting of the sun, and the effects on the clouds is all that was left. However, the colours (including the colour of the sky) appeal, as does the inclusion from the left of the frond of the Queen Palm we have in a large pot in the corner of the deck.

Yesterday I posted my blip before going out to the poetry reading; slightly sad about that as I got some later pictures which I might well have preferred. The reading was held in a wonderful setting. The Library Bar has many little rooms with places to sit and read, either one's own books or those from the many bookshelves forming the decor. Following on from the first act (a singer songwriter who has just released her first CD), S was absolutely fabulous. An opinion shared by the rest of the audience. We then had a visiting US poet who has done very well in Poetry Slam (performance poetry) competitions. Although I thought her volume was at times too much, her words were challenging. The evening finished (late) with a heat in the local Poetry Slam competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.