Bright Light, Dark Room

By ellies

Happy Birthday Dad

This is one of the most familiar views in the world to me as it's the view from my teenage bedroom window. I moved into that room when I was about 11/12, and it was my room until I went to uni aged 18. Mum and dad keep it very much as my room, and it's still got lots of my things in it. It's quite weird because it's mine... but it's mine as I was when I was 18. And the view, although it is familiar, has also changed a lot over the years. One of the most recent changes is that the elderly man who lived in that grey house opposite died, and a new family moved in about two years ago. Kenneth always had a beautiful and tidy garden, but they have butchered his trees, and have all sorts of things lying outside in the yard. It's a bit sad really. But on the other hand, they have lots of kids, and the street suddenly seems to be alive with football and bikes like it hasn't been for a long, long time.

I'm at home at the moment because today is my dad's birthday. It's nice to be here, and my brother is at home at the moment as well. Dad's generally not in good health, and was in fact in hospital three weeks ago with heart failure. The heart failure's stablised for now (it's not as dramatic as it sounds, although he was taken off to hospital in an ambulance with flashing lights and all!), but the future's all a bit uncertain so it feels good to all be together for his birthday this year.

I've not been on line much in the last coueple of days, so I've done a bit of back blipping. So check out my Friday and Saturday Blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.