Boats

I'm home and able to back-blip. In case anyone is interested my son, a daughter, her partner and I collected a narrowboat on Monday afternoon for a few days away. I've been on the canals in the past but not since any children arrived and they were all newbies. I had planned to blip with my phone but I managed to get something stuck in the charging port on the phone so once the battery died my blipping stopped - this is the first of the back-blips to get me back on track.

We set off from Tardebigge on Monday and stopped at Hopwood House Inn for food and beer - both were great. On Tuesday we stopped for a beer in Birmingham before mooring in Dudley at the Black Country Living Museum for the night. This shot shows the canal arm in the museum, they have a handful of working boats; the boat in the foreground is in the Fellows Moreton & Clayton livery. This was a famous canal carrying company and the name is also carried by a pub on the canal in Nottingham. The museum is absolutely brilliant and we topped it off with a boat trip into the Dudley canal tunnel before cruising back to the centre of Birmingham for the night. After mooring next to the NIA we had a smashing Indian meal on Broad Street.

Now I'm back to sorting through the images to see which are worth processing - narrowboats do not make a very sympathetic photography platform; vibrations from diesel engines and lots of movement tend to blur shots but I'm happy with some of the stuff I've seen so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.