CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A glimpse of coptic binding

I'm glad I have prepared myself in advance for a surge of activity, which duly arrived this morning at about the same time as the torrential rain. I didn't get too wet, but I did get to sort out my client's problems.

The next meeting about road surfaces (see yesterday's blip, though I will understand if you don't want to) was productive as well and we managed to focus on small and achievable targets. Getting home after lunch I heard about another client whose desktop mac's screen is behaving strangely and who I now have to see more urgently than expected. Finally, I managed to speak to the architect of the renovations to Lansdown Hall, about our planning application and how to sort out a problem. It was that sort of day.

I asked Helena earlier today if I could blip her crafting journal, which is now nearly, if not already, full. It is certainly bulging at the seams. She hand-made it in June using wonderful handmade papers and a red felt cover. She had previously done a book-binding course where she learned how to use this variation on coptic binding techniques, which I hope you can see.

The pages inside are covered with all the samples of her various craft skills, many of them cards, alongside her thoughts and inspirations she had realised whilst working at this. I think she has really enjoyed that side of it, as she is an excellent writer and used to teach creative writing course under the Wild Women of Stroud banner. When she has the time she needs to write regularly every day if possible to free up the output. I wish I could be as dedicated.

I benefitted from Helena's bookbinding skills last year when I received my brand new camera. I got it very cheap and the reason was it came from the gray market, and had a Japanese manual. A printout of the English manual was also included and Helena offered to cut it up, sort it and then bind it, which she did magnificently. So I now have my little manual readily at hand and every time I open it I admire the binding!

ps
I forgot to mention we unfroze the last Barabrith cake that Helena brought back from Newport, Pembrokeshire, a month or so ago. She toasted it to make it even more yummy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.