Hey! You!

... Get outta my space!

I stayed in Nelson last night because I had another meeting this morning. Not as useful as yesterdays, but of course you never know that in advance. I could have better spent the time at school, watching S give his presentation on his Spirit of Adventure journey - re Kiwilizzie's blip.

I did manage to duck away from my meeting at lunctime and head down to the mouth of Saltwater Creek in the hope of spotting some of the kingfishers that hang around down there. I did see one, but he was flying merrily away from me.

I was photographing a group of seagulls going about their daily abultions when up popped this shag (cormorant). Almost in the middle of the group. One of the gulls took exception and viciously chased him away. Poor guy was in a heck of a panic! And just like yesterday's photo ot the hawk, I wasn't ready in the excitement of the moment, so the capture isn't what I would have wanted (with bits of the gull missing), but does give an idea of the shag's desperation to escape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.