Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

The Lonesome Shoe of Grindleford

I pass this everyday on the way to work just on the edge of Grindleford in Derbyshire, it has been there for months. Hollow Jnr Snr and I always look out for it and wondered if it would be there after the Summer holidays........it was! We were strangely reassured to see it.

We have often talked about how it might of got there, with some imaginative ideas being suggested. So I thought I'd stop off this evening on the way home and grab a shot; I am going to use it for a creative writing session with my class tomorrow. I can't wait to see what they come out with - I have some very, er, interesting, characters.

I often wonder about the lone shoes I see around, on a trip out to see the Red Arrows last week we saw three - and it's was only a 9 mile trip! According to the OS there are 51591.68 miles of road in the UK. If my observations are a representative average of lone-shoe distribution, that's one every 3 miles. So there could be 17197.23 shoes on UK roads alone, let's call it 17198. Think of the one-legged people that could shoe! If their matching halves are out there too (must be, surely), that's 8599 bipeds who could get a free pair.


Each one must have a story. Some of them have to be interesting...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.