The Meldrum Michies

By meldrummichies

Give sorrow words

Give sorrow words; the grief that does not speak whispers the o'er-fraught heart and bids it break. Shakespeare

My wonderful Gran passed away this evening. When I was wee and used to stay with her I decided to call her Grunt (because she snored so loudly). My Grandpa was called Grumps (on account of his faked grumpiness whenever we were around - at least I think it was faked?) My grandparents were together for more than sixty years and since my grandpa died, my gran has slowly declined. Old age took from her the ability to recognise her family but never stole her love for them or her delight in their antics. She has spent the last few weeks in hospital, the nursing staff who looked after her could not have been more caring in their approach - particularly the staff nurse who told my mum about how she wished she could have taken a photograph of my gran as she sat up in her bed tucking in to her ice-cream, the only food that she was able to take with any enthusiasm. Their kindness and compassion has been a blessing.

The last time I saw my gran was only a few weeks ago. We had decided to take a flying visit to Ayrshire. The day before she had been determined that my mum bring in her dress and do her nails. She reckoned she was getting to go dancing with my Grandpa.

I hope the dancing is good, Gran. I can just hear you winding my Grandpa up just now - having a wee aperitif together and deciding what to have for tea "Right Bill, what'll we have that's nice but not come on?" Thank you for my lifelong love of coffeeshops on a Saturday afternoon, trying on ridiculous hats in fancy shops and my magpie draw to sparkly jewellery. Thank you for believing that my mum really did let us have fizzy juice for breakfast (in bed). Thank you for indulging and encouraging a wee girl in her love of books - see, it did pay off in the end.

I saw yesterday on the coverage of the 9/11 memorials the words "Grief is the price we pay for love". For love as much as my grandparents gave to their family; grief is a price that I will willingly pay to have had such wonderful people as my Grunt and Grumps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.