Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Not a Mouse

Those of you who stopped my journal yesterday will know that I bought some new toys blip props. They're partly to give me blip-ideas when the weather stops me from doing outdoor photos or when (like now) I'm out of SP ideas. They're also to try and help me to improve my macro photography (to give an idea of scale, he's 7mm tall).

I've never really felt comfortable with my macro lens and I'm hoping that because (unlike nature) these guys won't get bored and wander off/blow about in the wind, I'll improve.

So - this isn't a particularly interesting photo, it's me tinkering about with light and macro photography. I've added it to the "photo critique" and "macro photograhpy" groups, so I'd welcome any suggestions/advice on how to improve my technique (I'm looking for something more helpful than just "that's a bit s**t!" please ;-)

On a techy note, I added some texture to him to try and reduce his plasticky shine.

Oh and the title - that's because today's blip should have been the very cute, quite large mouse that I rescued from the cat this morning. Just what I wanted at 6am, to be crouched in the garden, in my dressing gown, with a mouse sat on my hand.....

Edit: Looking back at this now, I've decided that these little people are much more effective when photographed from a distance, so they're small within the frame.

Edit #2: In response to spodzone's suggestion, I've tweaked the image and re-posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.