noble maggie

By maggiesays

Doyora 1

I have always been immensely proud of my two boys.
David is the artistic one. At his 18-month check-up, the health visitor asked me if he could use a pencil. It had, I am afraid to admit, never occurred to me to give such a young child a pencil and paper. I promptly did, and he never looked back.
At his 3-year check, she asked him to draw a cross and a circle. This he did, but then went on to draw a car, complete with headlights, doors, wheels and so on.

This image is one of a collection of his childhood doodles I have kept. His bedroom was always a complete mess, school books and papers lost beneath the mound of drawings, comic strips, paper games etc. Many were thrown away over the years, but not all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.