HarryJ

By HarryJ

Hello Len

Everett, in Washington state, is where Boeing has one of their main plants. And it's where I have a lot of customers, including Boeing itself.
I'm there two or three times per month and I still have the little boy enthusiasm when I see all the planes "parked up' for overhaul, or waiting for delivery
.
I took pictures of the new 787 which should FINALLY start to be delivered this month, but alas, I didn't have enough lens to get a decent shot from where I was. But there are quite a few of them just sitting waiting for final certification before deliveries start in earnest

The "museum"Historic Flight is over the other side of the airfield, and I wanted to go see it for ages now. They say museum, but it's $12 to get in.!
Being a tight a***, I pleaded that I only had 10 minutes to spare so Len let me in and gave me a personal guided tour

There's about 10 genuine old planes in there, impeccably restored in every case, and looking in absolute mint condition

Len lovingly told me about how the Spitfire could bank and turn and how one of the others was a "throw-away plane" because it was welded together.

They'll take you for a joy ride on most, if not all, of them

Len told me how he ended up coming to work for Boeing from Dorset many, many years ago. He's retired now and spends his summers giving guided tours of the museum, and his winters in Arizona. (Clever man)

If ever there was someone who enjoyed his work, it's Len. His eyes twinkle as he tells the stories about each of the planes. His "joie de vivre" is totally infectious.

Ah well. Until tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.